Back to Top

11.04.07 : Gordon, Caroline, None Shall Look Back, published in 1937.

Notes Concerning the Author.

Caroline Ferguson Gordon (1895-1981), was a native of Kentucky and is widely recognized as one of the foremost novelists and short story writers of the 20th century United States. 


None Shall Look Back is Gordon’s Civil War novel, about men and women in the
Tennessee Valley region who, like Bedford Forrest, “took a one-way ticket to
the war.”  

It appeared at about the same time as Gone With the Wind and might be called a thinking person’s Gone With the Wind. 

Other Notable Works by This Author

Gordon’s Aleck Maury, Sportsman, published in 1934, is a classic portrayal of 20th century Southern life, and her Green Centuries , published in 1941, about pioneer Kentucky, is also a classic.

Availability of These Books

Suggest to seek used books and reprints.